Sacraments are outward signs instituted by Christ to give grace. The 7 sacraments are: Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony.

Each sacrament possess the power from God to make the soul of the recipient holy and pleasing to Him. This supernatural power is called, sanctifying grace.

Sanctifying grace is abiding and is only lost through mortal sin. The sacrament that first gives this grace is Baptism. The sacrament that restores this grace to those who have lost it by sin is Penance. The other sacraments give an increase of sanctifying grace.

Each sacrament also gives a grace that is proper to itself, which is distinct from the effects of other sacraments; this is called sacramental grace. Sacramental grace consists in divine help toward the fulfillment of the duties imposed by a particular sacrament. For example, the sacramental grace of Matrimony guarantees the assistance of God in fulfilling the duties of the married state.

Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Eucharist are known as the Sacraments of Initiation. If you are a Catholic who has been baptized, but not Confirmed, please contact us so that you may be fully received into the Church.